counter statistics

Year 2005

Not much has changed over in Chinatown. Go back in time to the year 2005 and compare it with what it is like today. With everything around Singapore changing every single year, it's nice to be able to experience places that don't change much over time.

See Related VRs

Singapore's Chinatown evolved around 1821 when the first Chinese junk arrived from Xiamen, Fujian province in China. The passengers, all men, set up home around the south of the Singapore River which is known today as Telok Ayer. Chinatown’s local name - Niu Che Shui (Bullock Cart Water) arose from the fact each household at that time had to collect fresh water from the wells in Ann Siang Hill and Spring Street, using bullock-drawn carts.

Back to previous page

Go to main map


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player